Update – I Quit My Biglaw Job!

Much has happened since I last wrote and I apologize for the prolonged absence.  I have big news since I last wrote….

I QUIT MY JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  YOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!  😀

I officially quit back in September.  I can honestly say that I am overall much happier than I was when I was working at the firm, and I’m really proud of myself for having the courage to change something in my life that felt so wrong.  I’m also proud of myself for having the courage to admit to myself and others that it felt wrong in the first place after all the hard work it took to get there.

Even though I’m happier and feel proud of myself, I also feel like I just stepped off the edge of a cliff – free as a bird, but scared because I don’t know where I’m going next.  There are days where I’m ecstatic about leaving my job, and other days I’m in a panic.  Some people quit their jobs with a clear idea of what they will do next, but I didn’t have a clear idea then, and I don’t have one now.  One of the things I’m struggling with right now is figuring out what to do next and how to occupy my time in a productive way in the meantime.

Although I saved up a little bit of money while I was working to pay the bills after I quit my job, it’s not sustainable for an indefinite period.  I’m giving myself about 6-9 months to soul-search and to figure out my next step.  I feel like I rushed into my legal career without much forethought, so this time around, I want to do things differently.

Some different things that have crossed my mind are going back to school for a PhD, writing, learning professional photography, or starting a business.  It’s scary not knowing what my future holds, especially since I can never remember a time in my life where I didn’t have a plan.  But I am willing to accept the temporary uncertainty in the hopes that something greater is around the corner.  After all, once you’ve jumped, it’s too late to look back.

Leave a Reply

